Boston Hit & Run Defense Lawyer
Accused of Leaving the Scene of an Accident? Let an Experienced Attorney Help You!
Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage is commonly known as a hit and run. Although hit-and-run accidents happen quite frequently, many of them occur because a driver is afraid of their safety, involuntarily intoxicated, responding to an emergency, or unaware of the collision itself. In such cases, it is possible to avoid conviction with the legal assistance of a criminal defense lawyer.
The Law Offices of James G. DeGiacomo has nearly a decade of experience helping clients who are facing serious criminal charges throughout Massachusetts. As a former prosecutor who has handled thousands of cases, Attorney James G. DeGiacomo can protect your rights, reputation, and freedom throughout the legal process and obtain the most favorable outcome on your behalf.
What Are the Different Types of Hit-and-Run Charges in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts law states that drivers involved in a car accident must exchange information following a collision. Failure to do so by fleeing the scene is considered a hit and run.
There are three types of hit-and-run charges in Massachusetts: leaving the scene of property damage, leaving the scene of a personal injury not resulting in death, and leaving the scene of a personal injury resulting in death. In each case, the prosecution must prove you were the driver of the vehicle involved in the accident, you drove the vehicle on a public road, your driving actions caused the crash, you were aware of the accident you caused, and you failed to stop to provide your information in order to obtain a conviction.
What Are the Penalties for a Hit-and-Run?
Leaving the scene of property damage is a hit-and-run accident involving only property damage. This offense is a misdemeanor, which carries a jail term ranging from two weeks to two years and a fine between $20 and $200.
Leaving the scene of personal injury not resulting in death involves both injury and property damage. This offense is also a misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence between six months and two years and a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000.
Leaving the scene of personal injury resulting in death involves both a fatal injury and property damage. This offense is a felony, punishable by prison sentence between two and a half and ten years, as well as a fine between $1,000 and $5,000.
Get a Former Prosecutor On Your Side
Due to the seriousness of the penalties for negligent operation, you need a lawyer who has trial-tested experience to help you avoid conviction or serving any time behind bars. Attorney DeGiacomo can listen to your story, thoroughly assess your situation, and determine all your legal options to avoid harsh criminal penalties.
Call (617) 941-3666 to discuss your case immediately. Available 24/7.
Available to Clients 24/7
Nearly a Decade of Legal Experience
Successfully Defended Hundreds of Clients
Former Prosecutor & Knows How That Side Thinks
Represented Clients in MA District, Superior, & Appellate Courts