DUI in Massachusetts
In Massachusetts, it is against the law to drive a vehicle if you are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. If a person has a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of at least .08 percent – or .04 percent for commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders and .02 percent for drivers under 21 years old – then he/she could be arrested for drunk driving.
As mentioned above, a DUI conviction can result in harsh criminal penalties. For example, a first DUI offense is punishable by license revocation for up to one year, fines between $500 and $5,000, and even a maximum jail term of two and a half years.
Additionally, a conviction can lead to a criminal record, which can have a negative impact on your life. Getting a job, applying for college, and living a normal life can be difficult with a conviction following you everywhere.
That is why a Boston DUI defense lawyer, like Attorney DeGiacomo can defend you in both criminal and RMV court. He can guide you through the intricacies of the legal process while protecting your rights and freedom.