OUI First Offense Massachusetts
First Offense OUI Penalties
If you have been charged with a OUI first offense in Massachusetts, it is important to understand what penalties you are up against. A conviction for a first offense OUI carries up to 2 ½ years in jail, fines between $500 and $5,000 and a license loss of between 45 and 90 days.
While jail time is not common with first offense OUI charges, lengthy probation, fines, and a license loss can happen without an experienced OUI lawyer by your side. Attorney James G. DeGiacomo will be with you step-by-step to ensure that you understand the process, and to protect your rights.
Chemical Test Refusal
If you are charged with a first offense OUI, it is likely that you will be given the opportunity to take a breathalyzer. Because this evidence can be so damaging, the police must inform you of your right to refuse the test. If you refuse the test during your first offense OUI, your license will be suspended for 180 days, or 210 days if you are under the age of 21.
One of the first things that Attorney James G. DeGiacomo will ask you during your free consolation is about the circumstances of this refusal. If he determines that you were not advised of your rights properly, then he can scheduled a chemical test refusal hearing at the Registry of Motor Vehicles in Boston to fight the refusal and get you our license back.
Because your life and your license are too important to wait, call Attorney James G. DeGiacomo today for a free case evaluation at (617) 941-3666. He is available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, three hundred and sixty-five days a year.
Available to Clients 24/7
Nearly a Decade of Legal Experience
Successfully Defended Hundreds of Clients
Former Prosecutor & Knows How That Side Thinks
Represented Clients in MA District, Superior, & Appellate Courts