OUI 2nd Offense Massachusetts
Second Offense OUI Penalties
If you have been charged with a OUI second offense in Massachusetts, it is important to understand what penalties you are up against. A conviction for a second offense OUI carries up to 2 ½ years in jail, fines between $600 and $10,000 and a license loss of at least two years.
Even if you are able to avoid jail time, with a conviction of a second offense OUI you can expect a long period of probation, fines, and a two year license loss. Attorney James G. DeGiacomo will be with you step-by-step to ensure that you understand the process, and to protect your rights.
If you are charged with a second offense OUI, one of the first things that Attorney James G. DeGiacomo will ask you about is your prior conviction. Massachusetts has a life-time look back for OUI offenses, so that means even if you were convicted 20 years ago, it will still count against you. Depending on where and when your prior offense occurred, Attorney James G. DeGiacomo may be able to contest that it conforms with Massachusetts law or even reopen the old case and get it dismissed.
Chemical Test Refusals
If you refused the breathalyzer during your second offense OUI arrest, then the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles will suspend your licenses for three years. Because you are not eligible for a hardship license during this period, it is important to have an experienced OUI attorney evaluate your case to see how best to defend yourself.
Because of the high stakes with a second offense OUI, call Attorney James G. DeGiacomo today for a free case evaluation at (617) 941-3666. He is available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, three hundred and sixty-five days a year.
Available to Clients 24/7
Nearly a Decade of Legal Experience
Successfully Defended Hundreds of Clients
Former Prosecutor & Knows How That Side Thinks
Represented Clients in MA District, Superior, & Appellate Courts