The most common sentence is Massachusetts courts is to a term of probation. When a person is sentenced to probation, they are not sent to jail, however, they are given a number of court orders, called “conditions of probation” that they must adhere to or risk being found in violation and re-sentenced. While all types of probation have some specific conditions, the courts often tailor additional conditions to the specific case.
Here are the standard conditions of probation:
- Do not violate any state or federal law - this is always a condition of probation.
- Pay certain fines and fees - different charges have different fees attached, but typically these fees will include a monthly probation fee of $50.00 to $65.00. Depending on the circumstances, your attorney may be able to get some or all of these fees waived or converted to community service.
- Do not leave the Commonwealth of Massachusetts – this is a standard condition, however, your attorney can often have this restriction lifted.
- Report to your probation officer as required
Here are the more common additional conditions of probation that can be added based on your case:
- Stay away from a person or place
- Do not contact a certain person
- Be required to wear a GPS bracelet
- Home confinement
- Abstain from drugs or alcohol
- Be subject to random drug or alcohol testing
- Attend certain classes (e.g. 24D class, certified batterer’s class, brains at risk)
- Complete a certain number of community service hours
If you complete your probation without violating any of the conditions that are set, your case will end. However, if you violate one or more of the conditions you will likely find yourself back before the court for a Probation Surrender Hearing. At this hearing, the judge can re-sentence you if you are found to have violated probation.